Close this search box.
2019 – 64th Edition

Iván Giroud

International Jury

The president of Havana’s International Festival of New Latin American Cinema since 2013, he was previously its artistic director between 1994 and 2010. He is a board member of the New Latin American Cinema Foundation. Between 2010 and 2013 he served as director of programming at the Buñuel Institute and was guest lecturer for the Master in Film Industry Management at the Carlos III University of Madrid. He has been invited to be a jury member in major film festivals in Europe, Latin America, and North America, including Cannes (2019), Venice (2018), San Sebastian (1998), Documenta Madrid (2008), Málaga (2017), Sarajevo (2000) and Morelia (2018), and is a member of the International Jury of the Platino Awards for Ibero-American cinema, since their first edition in 2014. In 2000 he curated the largest retrospective of Cuban cinema in the United States for the Havana Film Festival in New York, which he himself co-founded; and in 2018 he served as the Kennedy Center’s curator for the Cuban Film Retrospective at the festival Artes de Cuba, From The Island To The World. He directs the magazine ‘Nuevo Cine Latinoamericano’ and is the head editor for America of the ‘Diccionario del Cine Lationamericano: España, Portugal y América’ (Iberoautor, 2011). He is the author of books ‘Alfredo Guevara. En el ejercicio de la crítica’ (Ediciones Nuevo Cine Latinoamericano, La Habana, 2017) and ‘El pretexto de la memoria’ (Editorial Capital Intelectual, Buenos Aires, 2018). He has also written texts on Cuban cinema for national and foreign publications.

Iván Giroud

All members of the

2019 – 64th Edition

Josefina Molina

Chairs the jury

Thierry Forte

Iván Giroud

Philippe Lesage

Keti Machavariani

Dilip Mehta

Rosa Montero