2022 – 67th Edition

Gracia Querejeta

International Jury

Film director, screenwriter and producer born in Madrid in 1962, she is one of the most brilliant and profound gazes in Spanish cinema. Hers is a life surrounded by film. The daughter of the costume designer Maiki Marín and the famous film producer Elías Querejeta, her family nurtured her great vocation and talent as a filmmaker from childhood.

She made her first professional incursion as an actress when she was only 17 in ‘What Max Said’ (1978), by Emilio Martínez Lázaro. Together with Carlos Saura, she discovered the filmmaking profession, working as an assistant director in ‘Sweet Hours’ (1982), and after graduating in Ancient History, she began her successful career as a scriptwriter and film director.

Her shorts ‘Tres en la marca’ (1988, as part of the film ‘Siete huellas’) and ‘El viaje del agua’ (Goya Award for Best Short Film in 1991) would be the prelude to her celebrated feature film debut with ‘Una estación de paso’ (1992), Special Jury Prize at Seminci and selected for the Panorama section at the Berlinale.

Since then, her extensive filmmaking career has included award-winning films such as ‘Robert Rylands’ Last Journey’ (1996), ‘By My Side Again’ (1999), ‘Héctor’ (2004), ‘ Seven Billiard Tables’ (2007; 10 Goya nominations), ‘Fracaso escolar’ (2012), ‘15 Years and One Day’ (2013), ‘Cordelias’ (2014), ‘Happy 140’ (2015), ‘Tanto monta’ (2017), ‘Canasta’ (2018) ‘Wave of Crimes’ (2017) and ‘The Invisible’ (2020); and countless TV Jobs like ‘Hospital Central’ or ‘Cuéntame cómo pasó’, among others.

Throughout her career as a filmmaker, she has won awards such as the Silver Shell for Best Screenplay (San Sebastian Festival, 2007), the Golden Biznaga for Best Film (Malaga Festival, 2014), Medals for Best Film, Screenplay, Direction, Music and Editing (Círculo de Escritores Cinematográficos, 2004) and numerous nominations for the Goya Awards.

Gracia Querejeta

All members of the

2022 – 67th Edition

Kate O’Toole

Chairs the jury

Jorge Arriagada

Pablo De Vita

Patricia Ferreira

Martín Hernández

Gracia Querejeta

Marie-Pierre Richard