The 67th Seminci kicks off with the traditional parade of stars down the green carpet

The crew of the opening film of this year’s edition, Don’t Look in the Eyes¸ closed a parade that included some of the most representative figures from the world of cinema

The 67th edition of the Valladolid International Film Week kicked off this Saturday with a parade of some of the most representative faces of the seventh art and culture on the traditional green carpet in front of the Teatro Calderón, the festival’s headquarters.

The director of Seminci, Javier Angulo, and the Councillor for Culture of the City Council, Ana Redondo, who wore a red dress by designer Esther Noriega, were the first to parade and greet all those present who, despite the rain, did not want to miss the event. Shortly afterwards, they were joined by the Mayor of Valladolid, Óscar Puente.

Javier Veiga y Eva Marciel.

The presenters of the Opening Gala, Javier Veiga and Eva Marciel were the next to walk the green carpet, followed by those in charge of providing the soundtrack to the gala, the legendary band Los Secretos and the group Glass Glassy. Producers Roberto Lozano and Marta Arranz, wearing Baro Lucas suits and Natacha Arranz dresses, respectively, were also in the parade.

The inaugural green carpet of the 67th Seminci was also attended by a large number of Spanish actors and actresses, including the godmother of this edition, Macarena Gómez; the actress Marta Hazas, and Luc Knowles, director of the film Libélulas; Miguel Ángel Muñoz, who is presenting 100 días con la Tata and the crew of O corpo aberto (Open Body), a film that premieres this Sunday 23rd at the RTVE Gala: the director Ángeles Huerta and the protagonists, Tamar Novas and María Vázquez. The carpet also welcomed one of last year’s Espiga de Honor honorees, actress Mercedes Sampietro, as well as actress María José Alfonso, journalist Elena Sánchez, director and presenter of the RTVE programme Historia de nuestro cine, and model Estefanía Luyk, wearing a dress by designer Fely Campo.

Under a light rain, more figures continued to walk the green carpet, such as Avelina Prat¸ the director of the film Vasil, and its star, Ivan Barnev¸ who paraded alongside other figures from the film industry, including the Italian director Emanuele Crialese, director of L’immensità, a film participating out of competition in the Official Selection.

Macarena Gómez.

The crew of the opening film of this year’s edition, Don’t Look in the Eyes, was in charge of closing the parade. Thus, the director Félix Viscarret and the stars of the film Paco León, Leonor Watling, Susana Abaitua, María Romanillos and Álex Brendemühl, the singer Amaia, who has composed a song in the film, and the author of the novel on which the film Desde la sombra is based, Juan José Millás.

Celia Orós, along with the curators Betty Bigas, artist and daughter of the filmmaker Bigas Luna, who wore a dress by Ana Caanan, and Vicky Calavia, cultural manager and documentary filmmaker, attended on behalf of the exhibition celebrating the 30th anniversary of the film Jamón, Jamón (1992-2022).

Judges’ carpet

Part of the jury in charge of deciding which will be the best titles of this year’s edition also took part in the parade. Irish actress Kate O’Toole, president of the International Jury, took the stage alongside Chilean composer Jorge Arriagada, Argentinean film critic and image and sound designer Pablo de Vita, screenwriter and film and television director Patricia Ferreira, Mexican sound designer Martín Hernández, and programmer/curator of the Dublin Irish Film Festival and the East Asia Film Festival of Ireland Marie-Pierre Richard.

Cast of “No mires a los ojos”.

In the Tiempo de Historia section, the film editor and filmmaker Pere Puigbert, the executive director of Doc-A – Documentary Africa Mohamed Saïd Ouma and Shoaib Sharifi, co-director of the documentary My Childhood, My Country – Twenty Years in Afghanistan, winner of first prize in the same section last year. Also present were the artistic and executive director of Nova Productions Limited, Teresa Lavina; Miguel Zozaya, PhD in Film Theory, Analysis and Documentation from the University of the Basque Country, and Daniel Pérez Pamies, member of the research group on the origins of cinema (GROC) at the University of Girona; all of them members of the DOC.España jury.

The jury was completed by the actor Rubén Ochandiano; Nayra Sanz Fuentes, independent filmmaker and producer; and Miriam Allen, producer, co-founder and director of the Galway Film Fleadh festival, who will be responsible for awarding the best films in the Punto de Encuentro section.

Costumes of the stars

As for the fashion on the green carpet, the designers participating in the showroom in this edition were Ainhoa Salcedo, Ana María Rincón Canaán, César González de las Heras, Toska, Ernesto Terrón, Eulalia Mateos, Francis y Teo, Irene de la Cuesta, Natacha Arranza, Raquel Castaño, Natalia Esgueva, Sandra Postigo, Esther Noriega, Marola Varela, Baro Lucas, Alejandro Maillo, Jose Martín, María Lafuente, Cristina Fernández Lucas, Ángel Iglesias, Fely Campo, Lauwood, Raul Escudero and Esther de Frutos.

Noticias relacionadas

Foto: Mohammad Rasoulof
24 de May de 2024
Seminci publishes the digital edition of the book dedicated to the filmmaker Mohammad Rasoulof, condemned by Iran’s Revolutionary Court
2 de January de 2024
The public, the audiovisual industry and the media are the driving force behind the new Seminci proposals
28 de October de 2023
‘La imatge permanent’, debut feature by filmmaker Laura Ferrés, Golden Spike of a Seminci whose list of winners includes a new line-up of female directors
27 de October de 2023
Ken Loach traces “the seeds of racism” with ‘The Old Oak Tree’
27 de October de 2023
‘El maestro que prometió el mar’, by Patricia Font, joins the Official Selection out of Competition
27 de October de 2023
Cristina García Rodero, the photographer who hates being filmed, submits herself to Carlota Nelson’s camera in ‘La mirada oculta’